Perth and Kinross Sports Awards History

The 27th Annual Perth & Kinross Sports Award, was held on Friday 16th March 2018 at Dewar's Centre Perth, with twelve category awards recognizing the achievements and contributions of individuals, clubs, coaches and volunteers throughout 2017.  Over 150 guests attended the evening with Blairgowrie golfer Bradley Neil being announced as Sports Person of the Year for the second time.



                                                                Group photograph of all the 2017 winners



Young Male Sports Person of the year Mark Alvares-Peres (fencing) and Young Female of the year  Lilly Roy (gymnastics) with Sponsor Alison Wilson, and Guest Speaker Mark Beaumont.


Sports Person of the Year - Sponsored by Perthshire Advertiser

Young Male and Female Sports Person of the Year - Sponsored by Alison Wilson

George Mortimer Award for Lifetime Achievement -  Sponsored by Perth & Kinross Sports Council

Disability Sports Person of the Year - Sponsored by Small City, Big Personality

Volunteer of the Year - Sponsored by the Trophy Shop

Team of the Year - Sponsored by Springfield Properties

Official of the Year - Sponsored by Thornton's Solicitors

Young Coach of the Year - Sponsored by The Perth Card

Club of the Year - Sponsored by Steve Brown Electrical Ltd

Coach of the Year - Sponsored by Sprinterz



SPOTYThe Perth & Kinross Sports Personality of the Year Awards was initiated in 1990 with the first winner being Athlete Paul McNally.  These prestigious awards are promoted and supported by Perth & Kinross Council, Live Active Leisure and Perth & Kinross Sports Council recognising the sporting talent and achievements of local sports personalities in a wide range of sports.

The 2016 categories and winners are listed below and the 2017 Awards Evening will be held at Dewars Centre, Perth on Friday 16th March 2018



SPOTYPrevious winners include Eilidh Child (Athletics), Fiona Pennie (canoeing), Wallace Booth and Gavin Dear (Golf) and Eve Muirhead (Curling).







Catogories Include

Sports Person of the Year sponsored by Live Active Leisure
Junior Sports Person of the year sponsored by Alison Wilson
Team of the year
Coach of the year sponsored by Tactran
School team of the year
Event of the Year sponsored by Perth & Kinross Sports Development Team
Disability Sports Person of the Year
Disability Endeavour of the Year sponsored by Perth & Kinross Disability Sport
Club of the Year
Volunteer of the year sponsored by PKAVS
George Mortimer award for service to sport sponsored by P&K Sports Council




SPOTY - Previous Winners

Year Winner Sport Year   Winner Sport
1990   Paul McNally Athletics 2006 Kevin McAlpine Golf
1991 John McCutcheon Body Building 2007 Graeme Connal Curling
1992 David Knight Athletics 2008 Wallace Booth & Gavin Dear Golf
1993 Sandy Galletly Swimming 2009 Eve Muirhead Curling
1994 Aileen Travers (nee  Nairn) Badminton 2010 Fiona Pennie Canoeing
1995 Sandy Galletly Swimming 2011 Eve Muirhead Curling
1996 Susan Fraser Hockey 2012 Eilidh Child Athletics
1997 Mike Hay Curling 2013 Eve Muirhead Curling
1998 Edith Barnes Shooting 2014 Bradley Neil Golf
1999 Warwick Smith & Peter Loudon Curling 2015 Stephen Milne Swimming
2000 Fiona Pennie Canoeing 2016 Laura Muir Athletics
2001 Robert Reid Motor Rallying 2017 Bradley Neil Golf
2002 Katriona Fairweather Curling      
2003 Glenn Campbell Golf      
2004 Morag MacLarty Athletics      
2005 Glenn Campbell Golf      

Previous Winners       Nomination Form       Photos       Sponsors   (click on link for SPOTY  Nomination Form)




Site Map | Links

Web Design by BedfordBeck Ltd